Tue 25 Aug 1953

Division One

Chelsea 4 Pompey 3


PosPlayerGoals
1Norman Uprichard   
2Dennis Hall   
3Jimmy Stephen   
4Jack Froggatt   
5Duggie Reid   
6Jimmy Dickinson   
7Peter Harris1
8Johnny Gordon   
9Lionel Phillips   
10Len Phillips   
11Jackie Henderson1
Select Pompey player for stats

Scorers: Harris, Henderson, 1og
Manager: Eddie Lever
Attendance: 40,090

Season 1953/54

Fixtures


Select opponent for Pompey line-up Change Season

DateOpponentResultScore
Wed 19 Aug 1953Liverpool AL1 - 3
Sat 22 Aug 1953Sheffield United HL3 - 4
Tue 25 Aug 1953Chelsea AL3 - 4
Sat 29 Aug 1953Huddersfield Town AL1 - 5
Wed 2 Sep 1953Chelsea HW3 - 2
Sat 5 Sep 1953Aston Villa HW2 - 1
Mon 7 Sep 1953Blackpool AD1 - 1
Sat 12 Sep 1953Wolverhampton Wanderers AL3 - 4
Wed 16 Sep 1953Blackpool HD4 - 4
Sat 19 Sep 1953Sunderland HW4 - 1
Sat 26 Sep 1953Manchester City AL1 - 2
Sat 3 Oct 1953Cardiff City HD1 - 1
Sat 10 Oct 1953Burnley AL0 - 1
Sat 17 Oct 1953Charlton Athletic HW3 - 1
Sat 24 Oct 1953Sheffield Wednesday AD4 - 4
Sat 31 Oct 1953Middlesbrough HL0 - 2
Sat 7 Nov 1953Bolton Wanderers AL1 - 6
Sat 14 Nov 1953Preston North End HL1 - 3
Sat 21 Nov 1953Newcastle United AD1 - 1
Sat 28 Nov 1953Manchester United HD1 - 1
Sat 5 Dec 1953West Bromwich Albion AW3 - 2
Sat 12 Dec 1953Liverpool HW5 - 1
Sat 19 Dec 1953Sheffield United AL1 - 3
Fri 25 Dec 1953Tottenham Hotspur AD1 - 1
Sat 26 Dec 1953Tottenham Hotspur HD1 - 1
Sat 2 Jan 1954Huddersfield Town HW5 - 2
Sat 9 Jan 1954Charlton Athletic- FA Cup Round 3 HD3 - 3
Thu 14 Jan 1954Charlton Athletic- FA Cup Round 3 Replay AW3 - 2
Sat 16 Jan 1954Aston Villa AD1 - 1
Sat 23 Jan 1954Wolverhampton Wanderers HW2 - 0
Sat 30 Jan 1954Scunthorpe United- FA Cup Round 4 AD1 - 1
Wed 3 Feb 1954Scunthorpe United- FA Cup Round 4 Replay HD2 - 2
Sat 6 Feb 1954Sunderland AL1 - 3
Mon 8 Feb 1954Scunthorpe United- FA Cup Round 4 2nd Replay AW4 - 0
Sat 13 Feb 1954Manchester City HW4 - 1
Sat 20 Feb 1954Bolton Wanderers- FA Cup Round 5 AD0 - 0
Wed 24 Feb 1954Bolton Wanderers- FA Cup Round 5 Replay HL1 - 2
Sat 27 Feb 1954Burnley HW3 - 2
Wed 3 Mar 1954Cardiff City AL2 - 3
Sat 6 Mar 1954Charlton Athletic AL1 - 3
Sat 20 Mar 1954Middlesbrough AD2 - 2
Sat 27 Mar 1954Bolton Wanderers HW3 - 2
Sat 3 Apr 1954Preston North End AL0 - 4
Wed 7 Apr 1954Sheffield Wednesday HW2 - 1
Sat 10 Apr 1954Newcastle United HW2 - 0
Fri 16 Apr 1954Arsenal AL0 - 3
Sat 17 Apr 1954Manchester United AL0 - 2
Mon 19 Apr 1954Arsenal HD1 - 1
Sat 24 Apr 1954West Bromwich Albion HW3 - 0